Why the big pause?

I occasionally read back through these posts, especially when I note a new follower or see that someone I admire has retweeted, etc, to check that I’m saying something vaguely coherent. Chances are that I’m not,. but y’know..

I read back through some recent posts the other day and came to the conclusion it’s mainly been a lot of complain gin about not doing stuff, not writing…not having time, not having energy, not getting on…And that’s fine, but it’s not getting me anywhere. And quite frankly, I’m tired of my own voice.

I’ve decided to spend less time reviewing in 2024. And I’ve decided to spend less time writing this blog as well. My original plan was to do something weekly, and to a greater or lesser (mainly lesser) degree I’ve kept to that, and I’ve enjoyed posting the poems from other people, and I may do that as and when, but I can’t think that stopping/pausing the rambles that came before will cause much weeping or gnashing of teeth.

I’ll round things out with the last annual post of my stats.

Headlines are that everything is done this year. I could include poems published in Collecting the Data (copies available, etc), but that feels like cheating/massaging the stats…And fuck knows, there is a enough of that going on..

Almost a 3rd of this years subs are still waiting on news. Exactly one third of those still waiting have been out per 35 weeks so far. Which is 15 weeks over the twenty-week wait on their website (It’s Dark Horse, BTW). I’ll keep waiting for a response to the email I sent 15 weeks ago (as per their recommendation and see how I get on) because I know Gerry has been a) busy b) unwell c) I very much want to be published in Dark Horse d) why wouldn’t you? I say none of this to name and shame as there is no shame.

That said, 3 of the poems subbed there are now in CtD, so perhaps they aren’t likely to be picked up.

Thank you for reading, thank you for buying CtD if you have.

Have a wonderful 2024.

Oh yeah, and if you get. a cache have a read of this Jon McGregor post about feedback.

Death Cab For Cutie – New Year

THE LAST TWO WEEKS IN STATS

HEALTH STATS
5K running. First time in 2 weeks I’ve felty like running was this morning
15K walking
1 days without cigarettes…
0 day since drinking
2 bouts of insomnia

LIFE STATS
1 x Xmas
1 X late night
1 x 3 year old in the house over Xmas
2 x in-laws that couldn’t make it due to Covid
1 x trip to North London to see a mate
1 x Xmas present that got duplicated

POET STATS
0 loose ideas/articles gathered
0 poem finished:
0 poem worked on:
0 poems committed to the reject pile
0 submissions:
0 withdrawal: 
0 acceptances:
0 Longlisting:
0 reading at: 
0 reading attended:
0 rejections:
18 poems are currently out for submission. 1 simultaneous sub
104 Published poems (including what’s in the book)
1 book sold
5 poems written and finished this year

Reviews
1 review finished: Martyn Crucefix
0 reviews started:
1 review submitted: Martyn Crucefix
0 reviews to write:

READ/SEEN/HEARD/ETC

Music
r= Radio, A = Audiobook, P=Podcast. The rest is music

Dropsonde playlist

The Archers
Guided By Voices: Half Smiles of the Decomposed
Irainia Mancini: Undo the Blue
Goat: Levitation Sessions
Charles Mingus: Tonight At Noon
Death Cab For Cutie: Asphalt meadows
Low: At Xmas
Gabor Szabo: Jazz Raga
Cowboy Junkies: The Caution Horses
Grachan Moncur III: Echoes of Prayer

Beth Orton: Kid Sticks

Read
Jay Owens: Dust
Carl Tomlinson:Changing Places
John Clare: Selected Poems

Watched
For All Mankind

Dark Wind

Fargo (Series 3)

Indiana Jones & the Dial of Destiny (Turned off after 30 mins)
Little Women
The Winter King
Great Escape
Guardians of The Galaxy 3
Where Eagles Dare
Die Hard 2
Bluey
Arsenal Vs West Ham (Boo!!)

Ordered/Bought
New running trainers
Emma Simon: Shapeshifting For Beginners

Arrived
Holly Magill: 20




 

3 thoughts on “Why the big pause?

  1. Pingback: Poetry Blog Digest 2023, Weeks 51-52: Holidaze edition – Via Negativa

Leave a comment