It’s been a while, but I think this is finished

Hull

You will not give in;
artificial light keeps you here after dark.
You can see the end;
this hull has become your Ark.

Catalysts and gel coats are setting
in dry dock, you’re land locked in boat sheds.
Roves, nails, fibre glass and resins
have finished off marine trims and hood ends.

Paint on the waterline, anti-foul
and then offer up your thanks.
You’ve made it this far,
now bring on the whiskey plank.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s been a while, but I think this is finished

  1. Steve says:

    I like that. Not entirely sure what it’s about tbh (I always was a bit thick about poetry) but I like the sound of it.

    What are ‘roves’?

    • Mat Riches says:

      It’s the start of something about my dad..it’s changed a bit since, but thanks for looking. I will post the full version in a bit…

      Roves are a kind of nail used in boat building…

      Congratulations on being my first comment…

Leave a Reply

